3rd Pennine Street Trespass, featuring a signpost and a shipwreck

At Aldgate-Edale we saw and observed the sign and marking of Pennine Street.  We set sail from Bristol, May 4th, 1699, and our Voyage at first was very prosperous.  It would not be proper for some Reasons, to trouble the Reader with the Particulars of our Adventures in those Seas: Let it suffice to inform her, that in our Passage from thence to the East-Indies, we were driven by a violent storm to the North-west of Van Diemen’s Land […] Twelve of our Crew were dead by immoderate Labour, and ill Food […] We therefore trusted ourselves to the Mercy of the Waves; […] What became of my Companions in the Boat […] I cannot tell; but conclude they were all lost […] I walked near a Mile before I got to the Shore […] I was extremely tired, and with that, and the Heat of the Weather, and about half a Pint of Brandy that I drank as I left the Ship, I found my self much inclined to sleep.  I lay down on the Grass, which was very short and soft; where I slept sounder than ever I remember to have done in my Life […] when I awaked, it was just Day-light.  I attempted to rise, but was not able to stir: For as I happened to lie on my Back, I found my Arms and Legs were strongly fastened on each Side to the Ground; and my Hair, which was long and thick, tied down in the same Manner.[1]


[1] Swift, ****, pp.16-17

Leave a comment